The Only Poem I Wrote for a Girl I Almost Fell in Love with

I’m starting to fall for you

and that’s why you had to go.

 

Think of the tallest building in your vicinity.

Climb to the top of it

and jump off,

knowing the whole way down

you jumped without a parachute.

 

You jumped in full view of the ground

that

there are explosions inside

the expansion

of your heart

that would just as kill you

before you

reached the bottom.

 

Now let’s trade places

in the safety

of a metaphor.

 

See me on the stairs.

Climb with a

cautious heart,

still beating,

nearing the top.

 

And as we slow dance on the roof

of where lusting souls meet,

the moonlight swallows the night

in songs from playlist’s

I should’ve

never

listened to.

 

And by a luminous

everything,

everything is more clear.

 

And here

I’ve discovered myself in a dream

I’d forgotten

I was having.

 

Realizing now,

it’s only me,

the Loon,

cascading toward the edge

of another

long

fall

 

with another someone

 

who

never intended to jump

with another someone

like me.

 

I asked you to leave,

love,

because even

as

bright as

it is out here

you still can’t

see

my face.

 

And for me,

as it is

my voice

that beckons

the

pale

treacherous

light

 

I can

see your’s

perfectly.

Leave a Reply

